2013 Faculty Research & Creative Activities Retreat


The Faculty Research and Creative Activities Retreat 2013 on January 23rd and 24th is now history. The Retreat was meant to build skills, gather and build collaborations, recognize faculty achievements and learn about new developments at other universities.


Over 300 faculty participants attended 22 affinity groups and ten professional development workshops. SF State faculty were recognized in 94 featured works including posters and books, and for 80 awarded grants. As well, the Fostering Students as Innovators panel drew a standing room only crowd, as did the provocative and exciting keynote lecture by Londa Schiebinger.  


Please follow this space for posts of power point presentations, affinity group updates, videos of workshops and interviews, and a survey to help the Retreat team plan future activities. 


An ORSP funding opportunity will be disseminated and posted in early spring, with competitive funding available for faculty or faculty-led groups to conduct research or creative projects in FY 13/14.  


Thank you again for participating in the Faculty Research and Creative activities Retreat 2013.  As before, please direct all queries to retreat2@sfsu.edu.

Leonard Library

Retreat Day events (Jan. 24)

Thursday January 24, 2013 official Retreat agenda


chairs in a circle

Faculty Affinity Groups

Affinity Group meetings planned to date

Londa Schiebinger


Keynote lecture "Gendered Innovations in Science, Health & Medicine, Engineering, and Environment" by Londa Schiebinger, John L. Hinds Professor of History of Science, Stanford University, and Director, EU/US Gendered Innovations Project

laurel crown

Faculty Recognition Reception

Following the keynote address, a faculty works recognition reception will be held in the Leonard Library on January 24th from 4:30 - 6:00 pm hosted by President Les Wong and Provost Sue Rosser


Retreat Planning and Logistics

Paul Barrows

Rick Harvey

Maggie Beers

Mark Johnson

Daniel Bernardi

Deborah Masters

Chris Bettinger

Alison Sanders

Sacha Bunge

Leticia Santos

Jeff Cookston

Paul Sherwin

Sheryl Creer

Uschi Simonis

Stephen Duddy

Rozan Soleimani

Meg Gorzycki

Jaylan Turkkan

Mira Guergova

Jackie White